New Year, New Professional Beginnings

My personal Jewish library / photo taken by Rachel Mauro

An early shanah tovah to everyone. If you haven’t yet made your plans for High Holidays, check out this post!

I thought I’d take the time to talk on a personal note, as I sometimes do in this blog. Rosh Hashanah’s message of new beginnings really holds true for me this year; as of this month, I’m enrolled in a new graduate program in Library Science at Maryland’s iSchool, and I’ve started a new job at the UMUC Library.

Reaching out to the Jewish community is still important to me, and I’m very grateful for my local experiences at B’nai B’rith, “Moment” Magazine, and the Cape Verde Jewish Heritage Project. I’ve started volunteering at the Adas Israel library on Shabbat—a very useful job as you need a physical person to check out books when the computers are turned off. I’m also hoping to take some future classes at the Meyerhoff Center for Jewish Studies at UMD, to further bridge together my new graduate program with my enduring ambitions.

Though work and graduate school threaten to take up a bit of my time, my goal for this blog remains the same—weekly updates on local Jewish undertakings and news, and attending roughly one Jewish event a month. I’m so grateful for all the work that Jewish communal workers put forward to present so many amazing programs, and I’ll always want to be a part of it!

In the meantime, l’shanah tova, and may you all be successful in your new endeavors this year.

For more information on Jewish librarianship, check out The Association of Jewish Libraries and its Washington, DC chapter!

Leave a Reply

