I just adopted a kitty! (How could I not blog about this?)

Leah Mauro lounges on her cat bed. / photo courtesy of Rachel Mauro

As of last Shabbat, I have a new roommate! She is gray and white and orange, and although she can hide comfortably under my bed or couch, she also sees fit to occasionally climb walls, bookcases, and clothes on hangars. 😛 …we may have a little bit of work to do.

I named her Leah…my name is Rachel…she’s like my sister…get it? 😛 I adopted her from The Washington Animal Rescue League, a really amazing shelter, nationally known for its innovative, cageless facilities. And it just happens to be in our backyard! If you’re thinking of adopting a cat or a dog, I urge you to check this place out.

Still not convinced what cats have to do with Judaism? Oh really? Halacha, or Jewish law, does not prohibit owning pets. Our religion also has a lot to say on the ethical treatment of animals.

With all of this in mind, I have no lack of confidence that I can provide my Leah a good home filled with shalom and chesed. In the meantime, I think I’ve found the perfect Chanukah gift to give her when the time is right! 😛 Score!

3 thoughts on “I just adopted a kitty! (How could I not blog about this?)

  1. Pingback: Writing Workshop: A dramatic decision « Rachel Mauro

Leave a Reply

