How are you celebrating High Holidays?

Melody to "LDor Vador," From Generation to Generation / photo taken by Rachel Mauro

Melody to "L'Dor Vador," From Generation to Generation / photo taken by Rachel Mauro

As August draws to a close, I’m aware that I’ve attended very few events around Jewish DC for the past few months. Due to vacation, illness and family tragedy, I haven’t had as much time. More than that, of course, is how summer tends to be a slower time overall, more people escaping the District before the cold settles in, I suppose. In a few weeks, High Holidays will herald in some classes and other fun events.

But then I realized I haven’t exactly been keeping to myself; last week, I started rehearsing to sing with Adas Israel’s High Holiday choir! Look for me on Rosh Hashanah Day Two. 😀

It feels nice and exciting to herald in the Jewish New Year in such a proactive way. I hope that you find traditions meaningful to you with which to welcome 5770!

In the meantime, let’s hope the last dog days of summer aren’t too dang hot! 😛

Leave a Reply

