Elinor Lipman Reads from New Novel at Sixth & I

Elinor Lipman reads from her novel, "The Family Man," at Sixth & I Historic Synagogue / photo taken by Rachel Mauro

Elinor Lipman reads from her novel, "The Family Man," at Sixth & I Historic Synagogue / photo taken by Rachel Mauro

I gotta admit, I had some slightly unrelated reasons to be excited for this one. First off, I haven’t been to Sixth & I for several months, believe it or not. Heh. Better late than never?

And second, I’d interviewed the author, Elinor Lipman, before, when her novel, “Then She Found Me,” was turned into a motion picture starring Helen Hunt. Though I didn’t get a chance to talk to her on Thursday night, seeing has her fans were clamoring for her books and autograph.

The downstairs activities hall was packed with people who came to hear Lipman read from her latest novel, “The Family Man,” which focuses on the lives of a gay man, his ex-wife, and his aspiring actress daughter.

Lipman promised to keep the program short; the readings and tha Q&A being conducted in under an hour. We’ve all been to “that reading,” which seemed to drag on forever, she said. The audience seemed very taken with her, laughing repeatedly at her quirky dialogue and gushing openly over her work while she modestly explained about her writing habits.

The event was co-sponsored with local bookstore, Politics and Prose. Esther Safran Foer, president of the synagogue, said that bookstore owner, Carla Cohen, mentioned Lipman as being one of her favorite authors. Talk about good PR!

Check out Sixth & I’s upcoming author events here.

Ooo, just checked my WordPress dashboard…this is my 100th post. 😀 Keep it hoppin, Jewish DC.

Leave a Reply

