Bowling for Bears

Teddy bears like the one pictured here will be donated to children in need, thanks to young professionals enjoying some nosh at the bowling alley. / photo taken by Rachel Mauro

Teddy bears like the one pictured here will be donated to children in need, thanks to young professionals enjoying some nosh at the bowling alley. / photo taken by Rachel Mauro

…I contemplated using a picture of people actually bowling, but that might force me to confront my own poor showing. 😉

Despite my lack of skill in this area, I, along with 22 college students and young professionals, schlepped to GWU’s Hippodrome Thursday evening to throw a ball at a bunch of pins. Believe it or not, self-denigration was not our primary purpose. Our evening, complete with donations of $10 to $15, helped send teddy bears to children in need, courtesy of B’nai B’rith Young Leadership.

Each person who bowled counted for one bear being shipped off, according to the press release. And this year, bears are also being sent to Jewish military families who are “affected by the war on terrorism.” A special, cuddly way of saying thank you, I suppose. 😛

Although I personally sucked the big one on the alley, I did enjoy shmoozing with people from my work, as well as a few young professionals I’ve met around town. It’s great to spend a weekday evening both having fun and giving back. This event as also co-sponsored with student groups, JSA and GWU Hillel.

For more information on B’nai B’rith Young Leadership, check out the Facebook page. Bear in mind that there are also active communities in Florida, Chicago, and NYC! Next up for D.C.ers is August trivia night, co-sponsored with Sixth & I. E-mail Renee Howard at rhoward@bnaibrith.org to R.S.V.P.

Leave a Reply

